2012 Silver Beaver Awards

2012 Silver Beaver Recipients


Roger Belling, Nicole DeCarlo, Dr. Thomas Madejski

Silver Beaver Awards
Three volunteers were honored with the Council’s highest award, the Silver Beaver Award. Honorees are Nicole DeCarlo (Albion), Roger Belling (Pendleton), and Dr. Thomas Madejski  (Albion).

The Silver Beaver is a National BSA award presented by the local Council for distinguished service to youth. Each of this year’s recipients is a long-tenured volunteer who has also made significant contributions by way of service to his or her local community.

Nicole DeCarlois the organizer and Advisor for Albion Venture Crew 3164. In addition to several service roles in her church and local community, her Scouting history includes a variety of roles: Den Leader, Cubmaster, troop committee member, and District Cub Scout Roundtable Commissioner among them. A former program director for the Seneca District Day Camp, she also served on the commissioner staff for the 2010 National Jamboree. Nicole has served as an excellent example of how to manage a successful Venture program. Her efforts have helped the crew membership to grow dramatically over the past two years to include more than 2 dozen youth members. Past honors include the Den Leader and Cub Scouter Awards, Commissioner Key, and District Award of Merit.

Roger Bellingis the current Towpath District Commissioner. Roger has also served as Den Leader, and helped to organize and served in a leadership role for Pendleton Troop 98. He has helped to organize and served as an instructor for numerous training courses, including Scoutmaster Training and Okpik Outdoor Winter Camping Skills. Roger has also helped to lead several major work details at Camp Dittmer. A Wood Badge trained Scouter and Vigil Honor member of the Order of the Arrow, Roger is the recipient of several awards including the District Award of Merit. Roger was also recently honored with the Founder’s Award by the local Ashokwahta Lodge of the Order of the Arrow.

Dr. Thomas Madejskiserves as President of the Iroquois Trail Council Board of Directors. An active member of his local parish, he is a 4th degree member of the Knights of Columbus and also sings in the choir. In his professional life, he is devoted to community service as a physician specializing in Geriatric Medicine and Hospice & Palliative Care. In addition to his private practice and his role as an attending physician at Medina Memorial Medical Center, he has served as medical director for the Orleans County Nursing Home, Orchard Manor Nursing Home, and Hospice of Orleans County.

As Scoutmaster of Albion Troop 164, he has helped membership to grow by 50% since 2007 to more than 40 youth members. A volunteer medical advisor to our local camps, Tom has also served on the medical staff for the 2005 and 2010 National Jamborees. During his tenure as Council President, there has been resurgence in the local program operations, leading the council to achieve the 2009 Quality Council Award, and to be recognized by the Northeast Region as a 2011 Journey to Excellence Gold Level high-performing “Above and Beyond” Council.  

Complete Silver Beaver Alumni List (PDF)